top of page
  • Writer's picturekRazy kAtz

The Horrors of Moving With a Baby

Hey y’all I know it's been a good minute since my last post on Mommy Blog and I am going to be filling you in on this post so grab some popcorn and enjoy.


So, as you all know baby daddy and I hit a rough patch in June, things were not working out so my two best friends bought me a plane ticket for July 2nd 2019. I will be honest, I was very close to telling them that I wasn’t coming because I do want things to work out with baby daddy, but we both knew this was something we needed.


July 2nd came sooner than I liked but I kept telling myself it was for the best, and in some ways it was. I didn’t go to bed that night, spending as much time with baby daddy as possible because I was going to miss him, even with everything that was going on with us. Midnight rolled around meaning I had two hours before I had to wake up our daughter and head out to the airport.


At 1am she woke up due to baby daddy using the bathroom. I picked her up and gave her to her daddy knowing that she wasn’t going to spend time with him for a while.


2am came quicker than I ever expected and it started to dawn on me that I was really leaving. I started to panic as I got everything into the car, then I had Vaeh say goodbye to her daddy. I figured she would fall asleep in the car on the way to the airport, but she didn’t. She was wide awake when I opened the door to grab her, after getting the big suitcase, carry on, the diaper bag, and my purse ...I had a lot of stuff, plus the baby in her car seat.


We sat there for a while waiting for everything to open up, which mind you I am not patient and it was taking way too long for my liking. Once everything opened I went to check my bags and that's when everything decided to go downhill.


Not only did I have a cranky baby who wouldn’t sleep and wanted to get out and run around, I had them telling me my carry on wasn’t an actual carry on, which I called bullshit because I had used it three times at this airport as a carry on.


I had to deal with the person in charge and she was so sweet, she let me check the bag for free after my fingers started to bleed because I had messed them up while stuffing things from the carry on into my suitcase.


Once we got that settled Vaeh was in my arms for the rest of the process. We went through security and I got stopped for her diaper bag because I packed some juice for her.


The security guard grabbed my arm very firmly when I went to grab the bottle, looked me dead in the eyes and told me, "Don't ever do that again."


That was one hell of an experience I don’t ever want to go through again.


We finally got on the plane and Vaeh would not sit still on my lap, she wanted to get down and walk around but she couldn’t, she also kept touching the guy beside us which was totally awkward.


Finally we both fell asleep because neither of us had gotten a good night's rest before this long trip.


When we landed Vaeh was beyond grumpy which made me terrified because we had a layover.


First thing I did was find a bathroom to change her diaper, I had to do it on the floor because she freaked out on the changing table, then when I went to the bathroom the toilet flushing scared her. When we finally sat down 30 minutes went by fast but Vaeh would not sit in my lap, she wanted her own chair. When we boarded it was the same struggles until we fell asleep again.



When we landed my friend was there to pick us up. Vaeh was beyond cranky and wouldn’t stop trying to run off and she really didn’t want to have anything to do with Krissy.


When we got to the parking garage, she started to warm up to her and a feeling of relief flowed over me. The two of them ran around the garage for a bit playing and dancing around, seeing my baby girl laughing with someone she had only met over video chats was such a relief, I can’t even explain it.


Listen y’all moving with a baby is hard, it isn’t easy, and it is extremely stressful but keep y’alls head up it will be okay.


We have been here for a little over a week and baby daddy and I are working things out. Vaeh is adjusting well and loving the new place. We are okay, we are strong, and things are working out for the better.


Baby daddy and I are currently working on a way for us to get together and figure out what our future looks like, together. Stay tuned for updates!


Keep it real..till next time.


-Eliza

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page