top of page
  • Writer's picturekRazy kAtz

Stop Growing!!!!

As parents we all go through the feelings of never wanting our kids to grow up into self sufficient, independent adults. My daughter is now 1 and I have already started feeling a sort of sadness as I watch her grow.


When she was first born she was the most cuddly little thing ever. She would sleep on my chest and she would cry every time I set her down. At age 1 she is always up waddling/running around like she owns the apartment, which in truth, she does. She has her Daddy and I wrapped around her little finger.

Watching her grow into her own personality is beautiful and heart wrenching to see. She loves food, she loves it when people smile, and she is all around a goofy little girl. To me she is the most perfect babe in the world. I see her innocence and her purity and every fiber of my being tells me to hide her away from the outside world. But I know that isn't possible. She will grow, she will mature, and she will become less dependent on me. Even writing that makes my heart clench. I know I will always be her Mommy, I also know it is completely okay and normal to feel this way.


Our children are a gift, they are a wonderful miracle brought into this world to shine a light on all the simple beauties around us. Since having my baby girl I myself have started noticing little things that make me smile, things I didn't notice before.


Every day our children are watching and learning from us, when they do something they look at us with those big eyes wondering if what they did was good, or bad. They test our patience, our minds, and our strength as a person. So as they grow they must also learn that the world isn't perfect, just like people. There will be good ones, and there will be bad ones, but they cannot let that hinder their outlook on the world around them. As parents we must teach them to see and acknowledge the bad and then overlook it. We must teach them to focus on the good surrounding them, if they don't see good, then be good, be a positive voice for change, one small difference can change a negative place into a bright and bustling one.


So despite wanting to lock my child up and hide them from the world, I know they're going to need a thick skin, and a kind heart. Those are the morals I work towards every day, small details as she grows that will eventually branch out into a blossoming, beautiful tree.

Spend as much time as you can with your children when they are young, because someday they won't be around as often. It isn't a bad thing, but it's something to keep tucked away in the back of your mind. Love them now, shower them in as much love, compassion and empathy while they are young enough to accept it.


Well fellow readers thank you so much for reading! I hope you enjoyed this little snippet.


Love y'all, keep it real! Until next time.


-Eliza

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page